Static IP on Toon for external control

Everything about external control, apps, VNC, etc goes here.

Moderators: marcelr, TerrorSource, Toonz, TheHogNL

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby TheHogNL » Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:53 pm

Yes you can put it in /etc/init.d/rc5.d/
Didn't test it yet because F1 :D

edit: should be /etc/rc5.d
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: August 2017

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby hellwich » Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:23 pm

Thanks for the swift reply. The folder you mentioned didn't exist. I've created it, moved the script in that folder and rebooted Toon, but unfortunately it didn't work.
I've found another folder with the same name in an other location: /etc/rc5.d
Moved the script there, rebooted Toon again, but the second nameserver still didn't show up in /etc/resolv.conf.
After manually starting the script the second nameserver gets added to /etc/resolv.conf, so the script itself seems to be working.
Any other suggestions maybe? Have fun watching F1!
hellwich
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 2018

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby TheHogNL » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:40 pm

Sorry I was a bit hasty :)
It is in /etc/rc5.d and should be named S99custom
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: August 2017

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby hellwich » Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:11 am

Thanks, that did the trick. After a reboot the 2nd DNS server was added to /etc/resolv.conf.

Can not recommend this method though, because after rebooting my Toon I was seeing packet loss / timeouts and high ping times (> 4000ms) to my Toon. Altough troublesome, I succeeded in SSHing to my Toon, move the script out of the /etc/rc5.d folder and rebooted my Toon. After rebooting my Toon was functioning normally again. To make sure it was caused by the script I repeated the process and concluded that the issue was indeed caused by the script (was seeing high ping times and dropouts again).

I won't be adding that 2nd nameserver anymore, it's not worth the trouble... :)

Thanks anyway TheHogNL!
hellwich
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 2018

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby TheHogNL » Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:19 pm

Ok weird. I'll test it myself tonight
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: August 2017

Re: Static IP on Toon for external control

Postby hellwich » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:10 am

Were you able to reproduce the issue, TheHogNL?
hellwich
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 2018

Previous

Return to Toon external control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron