somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Pop your questions regarding Home automation software here.....
hidethewires
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by hidethewires »

Hi Labium,

I just found and downloaded your file Somfy posted 19 April. It's helped me to see that I am heading in the right direction! Many thanks.

HTW
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1689
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by Rene »

Within 4 weeks 3 screens with Somfy RTS motors will be installed at my home. So I am very interested in this transmitter. What are the costs of the transmitter?
Rene.
hidethewires
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by hidethewires »

Hi Rene,

in the UK the price is about 500 - 550 Euros.

HTW
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1689
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by Rene »

Wow, then I think I'll order an additional one channel remote and modify it to interface to Homeseer, for instance via an IP Power type of device. That will be way less expensive. In my case it is sufficient when I can control all screens at once via Homeseer.
Rene.
hidethewires
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by hidethewires »

A note for Labium who mentioned his USB - RS485 converter. The one that I use with no problems is the FTDI Chip version part number USB - RS485 - WE - 1800 - BT and was supplied by Somfy.

Rene, I agree - 550 Euros is a lot but you do get 16 channels of control (< 35 euros a channel) with encryption, excellent signal strength and Somfy gear is generally very well made and lasts a long time. Shame the manuals are not so good but here in the UK the support is normally very good.

HTW
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

the frames in the excel file i posted on this forum in the files section works.
i am now trying to make a visualbasic program to control the somfy interface and to connect it to homeseer.
but understanding and knowing al the visual basic expressions is different stuff. a script is much more simpel.

the hs.sendtocomport and the hs.GetComPortData are not ideal to send and recieve hex information. so i am trying to do that via microsofts way.
hs.senttocomport doesnt transmits information stored in dbases or textfiles.
see problems at
http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=149166

and hs.getcomportdata doesnt recieveanything in hex format from the somfy transmitter. at least i dont get any.
if you send a frame of hex bytes to the somfy transmitter, it immediately answers with some hex bytes but i cant capture them with hs.getcomportdata.

i am now trying to use the system.io.ports classes to send and receive data from the rs485 somfy interface. that must work.
http://www.dreamincode.net/forums/topic ... -in-vbnet/
here you can find the vb files to make a simpel serialport program and it works with the somfy transmitter.
hidethewires
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by hidethewires »

Hi Labium,

sorry, I can't help you with your Homeseer programming. There is a piece of software from Somfy called the RS485 Framebuilder but it is only beta. If I find a copy I will send you a copy if I can.

added file:
http://files.domoticaforum.eu/Somfy/RS4 ... .33722.zip

HTW
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

hi hidethewires,

i am trying to understand vbnet, i am trying to make my own frame builder, it is a good lesson in vb.net i think , a kind of training on the job.
the first part is to communicate in hex with the serial port, the second to get the node adres, the third to make the commands for the shades and store them in a dbase, the fourth to get them from the dbase and the fifth to interact with homeseer. the sixth to make homeseer like pages. a long way to go.

labium
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by Bwired »

hidethewires wrote:Hi Labium,

sorry, I can't help you with your Homeseer programming. There is a piece of software from Somfy called the RS485 Framebuilder but it is only beta. If I find a copy I will send you a copy if I can.

added file:
http://files.domoticaforum.eu/Somfy/RS4 ... .33722.zip

HTW
Added the file on the forum
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

i have come sofar with vb.net and asp.net that i can build my own frames now. the frames are the least difficult, the excel sheet could also calculate all frames. i have now asp.net pages in net 4.
i hope it will work with homeseer which uses net 2.0 (my apoligies rene)
the time it cost me:

1 month for making a good datagrid to sql translation for this device and understanding vb.net and sql
1 month for making it in listview and xml and understanding linq
1 month to translate that in asp.net pages and controls.

estimed time left;

1 month validating input and catching exceptions
1 to 2 months to let it talk to homeseer as a plugin.
1 month styling
its all completely new for me so i am now studying the templates for plugins which are written already. the documentation is only alittlebit above my level of understanding code and its meaning.

labium
Last edited by labium on Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:22 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1689
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Rene »

Homeseer requires .net framework 2.0, not 3.5
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

the somfy framebuilder has one command i dont see in my documentation GET_RTS_ADDRESS and SET_RTS_ADDRESS_CHANGE?

further in the documents is missing the how to interpret and how to make the frames of


GET_NETWORK_ERROR_STAT
POST_NETWORK_ERROR_STAT

GET_NETWORK_STAT Read network communication diagnosis
SET_NETWORK_STAT Configure and reset diagnosis counters
POST_NETWORK_STAT

these are mentioned in the following document also in the somfy file section of this site

RS485 RTS TRANSMITTER
Profile
SOMFY RS485 Protocol
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

i cant translate the six bytes 4Dh 43h 3Eh 41h 02h 0Ah

to 5063486A02

SOMFY RS485 Protocol
User's Guide page 13


http://files.domoticaforum.eu/Somfy/RS4 ... _guide.pdf

Protocol stack software reference 5063486A02 according to GME-STD 065 R10 is
coded as follows:
Stack_Reference 4Dh 43h 3Eh
Stack_IndexLetter 41h
Stack_IndexNumber 02h
Stack_Standard 0Ah


does anyone know how ?

labium
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1689
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by Rene »

0x4D433E = 5063486
0x41 = 65 ASCII = A
0x02 = 02
0x0A = NewLine
Rene.
labium
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:56 am
Location: netherlands

Re: somfy rts 485 transmitter art 1810803

Post by labium »

thank you

labium
Post Reply

Return to “Questions & Discussions Forum”