Page 1 of 3

Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:27 pm
by b_weijenberg
Do not use AC (HomeEasy,Chacon,KlikAanKlikUit,NEXA...) door/window and motion sensors in a home automation system!
These sensors are designed for stand-alone mode and produce for 3 to 5 seconds about 50 RF messages. This will disturb the RF signals of other sensors. If you send a command to an RFXCOM transmitter it will wait until the AC sensor has stopped transmitting. The reason for this is that it has no use for the RFXCOM transmitter to start transmitting if another sensor is active because both signals are disturbed due to the RF collision.

Code: Select all
AC sensor transmits RF =================================================
                      |                                                | 5 seconds later the AC sensor stops transmitting RF
                      AC sensor received in application
                       |
                       Command to the RFXCOM transmitter - wait--------| RFXCOM starts transmitting RF


For door/window sensors the X10 DS90 can be used. This sensor can be used to trigger lighting commands and can also be used for security.
The preferred motion sensor for lighting control is the X10 MS13.
The X10 MS90 motion sensor can be used for security purpose only.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:29 am
by Fischi
Hi, does the DS 90 windows/door sensor send the data, if door/windows is open/closed to the RFCcom receiver ?
If yes, I could use it with homeseer.

Please answer me soon. Regards, Fischi

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:56 am
by b_weijenberg
Yes, the DS90 has an internal reed contact that can be used with the supplied magnet. The status open/close is transmitted.

And the DS90 has also a connection for a second external contact for example to connect another reed contact or microswitch.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:32 am
by Fischi
Thanks for your answer,
is it also possible to take Visonic MCT-302, MCT-330, WT-301 or WT-302 sensors ?? (Where to buy ?)

Regards,

Fischi

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:39 am
by b_weijenberg
You can use the Visonic PowerCode sensor using this receiver as addition in the RFXLAN
http://www.rfxcom.com/receivers.htm#40079

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:16 pm
by Fischi
Hi,
thanks for your answer,
I will buy the DS90 door/windows sensors from Mamitek, but they are pricy /45€.
I use these in connection to the MAX! thermostats from ELV and controlling with Homeseer automation software.
The MAX! door/window sensors are cheaper/19€, but they don't work with the MAX! script in Homeseer.

Regards, Fischi

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 9:51 pm
by Theendisnye
Bert, which sensors are AC?

I had been using two types of home easy motion sensors at the moment a HE303 which appears to generate a single ON / OFF when viewed in xpl monitor and seems to also be usable with a dimmer. http://www.chbyron.eu/Byron/RemoteContr ... /42/HE303/

And an external motion sensor HE403 which has a house and unit dial and which appears to keep generating ON commands whilst motion is sensed and is specified as not suitable for use with dimmers.
http://www.chbyron.eu/Byron/RemoteContr ... /73/HE403/

I thought the first was an AC sensor and the second an ARC or have I got that wrong.

Can anyone recommend a suitable external motion sensor preferably at a reasonable cost?

Steve

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 8:04 am
by b_weijenberg
KAKU, HomeEasy, Chacon, NEXA... sensors with address code wheels (A-P/1-16) are ARC types and sensors with learning code are AC.

X10 MS13 sensors can be used outside if you protect the sensor for rain.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 8:44 am
by Theendisnye
Bert, I assume that the multiple ON/OFFs generated are not visible in an XPL Monitor window then?

Is it ok to use an ARC switch in a home automation set-up then?

Steve

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 9:51 am
by b_weijenberg
Multiple RF packets are ignored in xPLRFX and in the RFXtrx433.
The older USB and LAN receiver will send all received RF packets to the application.

The AC and ARC wall switches can be used as they transmit only packets as long as the button is pressed. Some switches have a maximum transmit time.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:01 pm
by mrqnapper
today I tried to create an RFX input device for the ms13E sensor in HomeseerPro. Did not succeed, it says no device found? I have set the code in the device to F3 and I also see that soem packaage is received in the Homeseer log. So what Am I doing wrong here? (also tried to create a normal device and choose form the list the Ms13A gave it the code F3 but that's not working either...).
So any advice how to get this working? Thanks.

W.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:06 pm
by b_weijenberg
An MS13 is an X10 device and not an Input Device.

Set House Code F to STATUS ONLY on the RFXCOM X10 configuration page.
Create an MS13 X10 device F3 on the HS Status Page and it will show the state.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:04 pm
by mrqnapper
Thanks, now its working. Is the shown state also the one for the light / dark sensor? Or is it possible to read that separately?

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:25 am
by b_weijenberg
light/dark sensor has the motion sensor address + 1 = F4

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:10 am
by mrqnapper
Nice! Thanks.