Page 2 of 3

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:31 pm
by Frosty
I'm using a NEXA door sensor and only see two packets in the software. Seems fine to me. (rfxtrx..)

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:33 am
by b_weijenberg
The RFXtrx will ignore duplicated packets and while the sensor transmits for about 3 to 5 seconds you will see only 1 packet or some more if another transmitter is active and disturbes the RF signals.

So better not to use these sensors!

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:05 am
by Frosty
Even if you have it set to "0" ? Why would it keep sending/spamming for 3-5 seconds? I only have one of these now, but i'll guess i have to reconsider buying more. That's unfortunate, as they are inexpensive, and work well. :(

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:40 pm
by b_weijenberg
These sensors are developed for stand-alone use and not for use in a home automation environment.
It is an advice! If you want to buy more go-ahead.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:22 pm
by DJF3
b_weijenberg wrote:light/dark sensor has the motion sensor address + 1 = F4


Bert,
Are you saying that a standard MS13 sensor will send out light/dark status on the configured device-name + 1?
(so MS13 device ID is B8, it will now send out light/dark status on B9?)
Or did I misread something?

DJ

PS. Asking because I have MS13's configured like B8, B9, B10 etc. but I have never seen B9 change as a result of light/dark status of B8.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:50 pm
by Frosty
Btw, the outdoor Nexa motion sensor use ARC ( i have that one too). Not the best looking unit to use indoors however. :)

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:22 pm
by b_weijenberg
DJ, the dark/light sensor must be enabled in the MS13. If not enabled it will not send the dark/light packets.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:34 pm
by Frosty
I'm not sure your claims are accurate. I have several motion sensors from Nexa (AC), and a Magnet sensor, and 5-6 receivers modules. To test I triggered both the magnet sensor and one motion sensor at the same time. I could still turn off/on a lamp with a remote control within less than a second.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:50 am
by b_weijenberg
The latest AC door sensors have a wrong ON packet format and the ON (open) command is therefore not seen by the older receivers!

And here an example of a correct AC sensor producing 32 messages during 3 seconds.
ACsensor.JPG
ACsensor.JPG (194.51 KiB) Viewed 12538 times

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:59 am
by Screamhouse
Are the door/windows sensors suitable for just reporting on/off or without triggering an event or is that even not possible?

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:25 pm
by b_weijenberg
The AC door/window sensors can be used if they do not trigger an event that starts an RF transmit.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:18 am
by kokki
I am using those Nexa sensors by Tellstick DUO and I get like 15 messages per event/motion in few seconds. I have old firmware, old software (telldus-core / tdadmin) .. old stuff for that's why that I have device under /dev and easy to control by perl scripts..

But I will move to rfxtrx if I find suitable setup for the device and for my scripts.

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:56 am
by jonbanjo
This seems to answer something I've been puzzling over for the last couple of hours (light switches quickly with "direct" rftxtx command but the same commands take a few seconds if sent in response to HomeEasy door sensor).

I've looked at the DS90 but it's a bit bulky and expensive so would prefer not to use it.

Does anyone know what the LightwaveRF sensors are like? I'm under the impression that they use a different protocol to AC?

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:21 pm
by raymonvdm
LightwaveRF is supported by the http://www.rfxcom.com/store/Transceivers/12103. So they could give the same issues. Although i think that you can work arround this issue by using a send delay in you domotica software

Re: Don't use AC door/window sensors

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 10:49 am
by bayoule
Hello Bert,

Is it also the same issue for AE Blyss 433mhz devices? I am thinking mostly about motion sensors? can those be used in an automation system?
Thanks