What Linux software are you guys using?

Forum regarding Linux Software and Home Automation Domotica.
rickk
Starting Member
Starting Member

Post by rickk »

So... what software are the Linux people over here using for Home Automation? I'm just starting out (and already hooked :)) and I'm wondering what way to go.

I've currently played with Heyu and Misterhouse. Heyu appears to be pretty solid and well-documented, but for my intentions will probably require a lot of ugly "houtje-touwtje" constructions with a dozen of scripts.

Misterhouse looks like a lot of ugly "houtje-touwtje" constructions already, has very poor documentation and doesn't work too well with my S10 dimmer modules already. Furthermore it comes with lots of stuff I don't care about entangled in the whole program and a confusing webinterface. On the plus side, it's all perl in which I know my way around. Also, I like the "LOMP" strategy a lot. But if I were to go for Misterhouse, it'll probably require a hefty amount of weeding through the code and stripping it all down to make it acceptable for me.

I haven't looked at ZenAH yet, but so far it appears there's 0 documentation and only a little support, so I haven't even got a clue what it currently does :)

Ofcourse I could roll my own from scratch, but I dread dealing with the lowlevel stuff (interfacing with the CM11, rfxcom, taking care of floods, loops, and all kinds of error conditions, etc.) so I'd rather start out with something existing.

So... what are you guys using?
- Rick
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post by Snelvuur »