Page 1 of 3

Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:13 am
by Bwired
HI
Anybody who has experience with the Powerlink2 form Visonic
It looks like complete controle over the Alarm panel over IP
The question is can we also use it other the the built in website, I guess its a very secure and no API.

PowerLink Highlights:Provides IP-based event notifications to alarm central stations via Visonic's IPMP (IP Management Platform)
No router configuration required when used for IP-based event notification purposes
Built-in secure end-user web portal accessible from all standard PC and mobile phone browsers
Built-in mobile interface designed for touch screen mobile devices.
Full control over the PowerMax home security system, including arm/disarm and status view of the system devices, and control of X-10 compliant home appliancesProvides live and alarm time recorded video feeds from up to 12 cameras, with the ability to save an image for evidence
Does not require any client software installation
Does not require a fixed IP at the home premises
End user event reporting via on-screen alerts, e-mail and mobile messages*
Enables end users to access the PowerMax event log
Offered as an internal module for PowerMaxExpress and PowerMaxComplete
Fully managed by Visonic's IPMP management platform
Remote maintenance and configuration of the PowerMax security system via the IPMP


visonic.com/Products/Wireless-Property- ... 2-internal

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:47 pm
by Bastiaan
Hi Pieter did you get anymore info about this Powerlink? May be at the fair?

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:18 pm
by Bwired
Hi Bastiaan,
No, sadly not, looks good. but probably not open at all.

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:19 pm
by Bwired
this is the pdf of powerlink1 I guess
even a mobile interface is available, its also possible to enable/disable alarm settings.
Should be possible to control with http from own domotica application

visonic.com/Data/Uploads/PowerLink_User ... E5471U.pdf
Im searching for the powerlink2 options

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:50 am
by Bwired

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:11 pm
by Bwired
Update:
today I ordered the the new Visonic Powermax Complete
including the new internal Powerlink2 Ethernet controller
also including sensors etc (see image)
Total price 344 Pounds incl shipping
Lets see if I get the powerlink2 up and running together with my own Home Automation system.
I think it will be hard as Visonic is known to have everthing secure :)

powermax.jpg
powermax complete
powermax.jpg (6.62 KiB) Viewed 23955 times


All very good prices on the security-shop-online on Ebay.
The new Visonic Powerlink2 only 125 pound
http://cgi.ebay.nl/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... SA:NL:1123

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:39 pm
by spierie
Hi Pieter,

Very interested in your findings, I'm also in search for a good security system.
But of course as open as possible....... :D

Rgds,
Michel.

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:28 pm
by Charles
Hi Pieter,

I also had the idea of letting my Visonic PowerMax interact with my (future) Home Automation. I contacted Visonic (DE) to find out if there was a possibility. The German office checked with the developers in Israel, but there is no possibility to interact with the PowerMax or Powerlink for any kind of programming (API) whatsoever. The're also no plans for it in the future.... sorry.

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:32 pm
by Bwired
Visonic will always tell this to you :D , they also told me there sensors are only working on a Visonic panel. All the sensors have a double function in my Home automation setting now and can be received with Rfxcom for example.

Back to the Powerlink2, With the powerlink2 its possible to connect to a application which is controlled by the company who monitors your house in case of an alarm etc. This alarm is triggered by the powerlink2.
You can also call the webserver within the powerlink2 which will present a nice page where you can control the panel and see the sensors etc.
So there is a API however Visonic is not giving this away public. Companies who create software will have to sign a agreement and then they can get the API.
So reverse enginering the http/https calls to the powerlink2 will most likely give me all the information I need to make a interface (driver) for my Home automation system.
Lets see.......

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:34 pm
by Charles
Sure, I know that they won't let others use there source. As far as monitoring your PowerMax by a security company, that can only be done using Visonic's IPMP. The RFXCOM can only receive the signal's, but not transmit. I'm no expert but maybe the signal from the sensors are partly uncoded. I looked at the product documentation of the PowerLink2 and the internal webserver will probably only communicate locally, but still I'm very curious and will closely watch this topic to see if there's News. If there is a possiblity to 'merge' the Visonic PowerMax directly into your Home Automation, I will immediately order a new PowerMax and a PowerLink2 (in the UK).

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:54 pm
by Pelle67
Hi,
I'm about to order the "Complete" system from a Swedish supplier but according to them, the "powerlink2" is not (yet) available for "Complete", at least not on the nordic market. Have someone seen it for sale besides on ebay ??

Bwired, I'm very interested to have your report how everything works when the gear is up and running.

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:49 pm
by Bwired
Its available from the ebay company, see my link above.
The Powerlink2 is working great!
The service from Visonic is very bad, selling but there is no manual?, you get the manual for the old powerlink :evil:
This old powerlink is connected to on the rs232 port, so a complete different construction.
Had to find out all myself, the new powerlink2 needs to be connected on the PC/IP connector.
Nice thing is that the powerlink automatic takes an IP number from your local network. Its not DHCP but it takes standard number 200 (xxx.xxx.xxx.200)
Open the webbrowser and you can login to the powermax, They created a very nice Ajax interface and you can control the Panel

Set alarm Home, Away, off via the webbrowser is possible.
All the Java scripting is hidden nicely (visonic always does that) but i think I will be able the hack this in a way that I can create an interface.
I only need the time, but I'm way to busy now, so this will be later.....

powerlink2.png
powerlink2
powerlink2.png (52.6 KiB) Viewed 23859 times

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:21 pm
by Rene
I just ordered one too.

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:39 pm
by Bwired
aha you can help finding out :-)

Re: Visonic Powerlink2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:39 am
by Pelle67
Report this postReply with quoteRe: Visonic Powermax Complete
by Bwired ยป Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:39 pm

Hi Spierie,

Thanks for the question!!
because of this I started to compare again and I saw that the powermax complete does not support X10?
I must have had a system melt down or something because Bwired without X10 is until today not possible LOL
So I changed my order to the good old powermax pro including the new internal Powerlink2 ethernet.


Bwired, so you bought the "Powermax PRO" and not "Powermax Complete" ?? If yes, it makse sense and the swedish supplier are then correct. Powerlink2 is not (yet) supported by "Complete"