Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Pop your questions regarding Home automation Domotica hardware here.....

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby mlstolk » Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:10 am

Dear fellow Evohome users, I've set up a Nano + CC1100 combo (which should be identical to the RFBee unit, apart from a 16MHz clock), with a plain copy of fullTalgoRythm's firmware except for the OSCCAL override.
Domoticz picks up the Evohome's RF-signals, correctly interprets temperatures and adds the controller to the switches.
However, setpoints and state changes are not picked up by the Evohome yet and outside temparture binding does not work either (timeout). The EvoTouch is a colored version (v.26).

Before diving into the code debugging, maybe there are points that I've overlooked:
- Should the EvoTouch and the 'RFBee' be paired in any way? (i.e. are the GW_ID and SYNC_WORD device specific?)
- Are any clock speed tunings (OSCCAL) required? I've disabled the OSCCAL settings for now, because the 115200 baud works OK at the default 16MHz clock.
- Are there any unforeseen effects of having a CC1100 instead of the CC1101?
- Any other suggestions before I dive into the route of RF-analysis?
mlstolk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby r_255 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:22 pm

Hi,

i dont know about GW_ID and SYNC_WORD but i do know that data is send by device id...... So you dont need to pair them. As domoticz should inject this into the send msg. based on the data it receives.

Best advice i can give is compare the received packets with the outgoing ( have a look at the documented payload ) and see if there is some difference between them.... Protocol is very strict and it might be that your evo home controller is not accepting or rejecting the payloads.

Hope it helps a bit
r_255
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: June 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby mlstolk » Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:02 pm

Thanks! I've recompiled Domoticz with the Evohome's debugging options enabled. This is the result for a zone setting:

2016-02-09 10:41:10 --- W --- 18:056026 01:040126 --:------ 2349 007 00025802FFFFFF (X▒▒▒) setting zone 1 to 6 degrees using Domoticz' interface
2016-02-09 10:47:32 --- I --- 01:040126 30:259031 --:------ 2349 007 00025802FFFFFF (X▒▒▒) setting zone 1 to 6 degrees using Honeywell App

So apparently the package contents are identical. I'm not entirely sure how to interpret the part before the colon src - dst addresses, but the part after the colon corresponds to the decimal representation (040126) of the last digits of the HEX address. So,
- 01:040126 matches my device's 0x049CBE, at least the 40126 corresponds to 0x9CBE (and is indeed retrieved from the Domoticz DB)
- 18:056026 represents 0x48*DADA*, (the RFBee's hardcoded address)
- 30:259031 probably is the correct address of my GW.

Still, setpoints do not come through. I can try setting the GW address in the FW to my GW's address, but I don't know if that would be the intended way...
mlstolk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby smartbit » Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:04 am

r_255 wrote:Flashing firmware is always your own responsibility.
I guess the firmware is the official honeywell v23, and fyi i am running it on the old evotouch controller ( b/w )


I would like to upgrade my evotouch controller (b/w, ATC928G1000, PCB 50033019-001 REV_C) to the latest firmware. Currently I have bootloader v3 (Nov 3, 2009) and Application Software Version 17 (20 Nov 2009). And yes, I'm willing to take the risk.

Anyone willing to help me out? Would be greatly appreciated.
smartbit
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 2010

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby r_255 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:04 am

drope me a line at my hotmail.com account.

r_255
r_255
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: June 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby mlstolk » Fri May 20, 2016 3:31 pm

Because of the various bugs (features) in the Evohome's control logic (Opentherm failures, heat requests when there should be no demand, Comm loss due to busy 868MHz freq.), I'm planning to stop using the EvoTouch controller and control the HR80/HR92 valve controllers directly from Domoticz.

Reverting to the Chronotherm iSense living room theromostat will work OK for that room, but I have to inject extra heat request demands via Opentherm or a Relay when one of the other rooms falls under the current HR80 setpoint.
To accomplish that there are some open issues:
- Does anyone know if there are any successful attempts in directly transmitting new setpoints to the HR80/HR92, without the intervention of an EvoTouch?
This should be feasible by sending the same commands as the EvoTouch after pairing. Without the presence of an EvoTouch, the pairing sequence should be implemented in the FullTalgoRithm firmware as well.
- I can't recall, but are manual temperature setpoints from the HR80/HR92 (by rotating their wheels) already received correctly?
mlstolk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby DanD » Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:56 am

Hi,

I've just noticed your posts and might be able to help if you're still working on this. I've been working on extending the Evohome code in Domoticz over the last few months and fixing a few of the bugs. I'm only working with the Honeywell HGI80 USB device and not any 3rd party set-ups, but I've been gradually building up an understanding of the command protocol and message structure and the code that Hydrogenetic and others developed. Here's some info on how to interpret the raw messages in the evoraw.log:

The 1-2 text characters after the datetime stamp:
I: Information messages sent on a regular cycle from a device to the controller
RQ: Request sent from controller to device
RP: Response from device to controller

The 3 strings after the request code are 3 device type and ID strings of the form XX:YYYYYY

XX is a device type code:
01- Controller
04 - Zone
07 - Sensor (e.g. DHW temp, Outdoor)
13 - Relay
18 - Gateway
30 - Remote

YYYYYY - is a converted version of the hex device ID, I haven't worked out the conversion, but the Evohome code handles that. If I pass one of my device IDs as a parameter to one of the functions in the Evohome code e.g. I give it a device ID 0x115b43, this appears in a raw message as 13:094630 and the code also always adds either my gateway ID 18:YYYYYY or controller ID 01:YYYYYY depending on the command and this is essential for the message to be accepted.

The controller issues regular keep-alive timing messages which I believe drive the timing of the regular 'I' messages. In this set-up the Evohome code is using the HGI80 to mainly listen to all these messages and log the results in the devices table. When Evohome code needs to issue a command via the HGI80 it either clones the controller message structure to communicate with a device or clones a device message structure to report information to the controller. The most complete example is the code to simulate the outdoor sensor. First the HGI80 follows the binding sequence with the controller (this is necessary as its a new device type and it can't simply clone a current device). This creates a record in the controller for the new device ID as an outdoor sensor, The HGI80 can then send messages to the controller using this device ID which are interpreted as outdoor sensor information. I've copied this approach in extending the code to allow non-Evohome temperature sensors to be used as zone temperature sensors.

Hope some of this info might be helpful.

PS I'm messing at the moment with trying to identify all known commands within the system. I'm working though all the possible 0xXXXX values with a few different payload structures to understand their effects. Here's a link to some more details on the Domoticz forum

https://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopi ... =20#p88621

Dan
DanD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby Aroby » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:22 am

Hi,

I'm struggling to get my Evohome HGI80 connected to my Synology DS215+ (DSM 6.0.1-7393 Update 1) running Domoticz (V3.5262). No Evohome devices are added !

I connected the HGI80 to the Synology:
echo 10ac 0102 | sudo tee /sys/bus/usb-serial/drivers/ti_usb_3410_5052_1/new_id
dmesg

Synology output:
[41883.802687] usb 1-1.4: new full-speed USB device number 11 using etxhci_hcd_150526_syno
[41883.866459] ti_usb_3410_5052 1-1.4:1.0: TI USB 3410 1 port adapter converter detected
[41883.874984] usb 1-1.4: TI USB 3410 1 port adapter converter now attached to ttyUSB1
[41892.581908] ti_usb_3410_5052_1 ttyUSB1: ti_open - no interrupt urb
[41922.891943] ti_usb_3410_5052_1 ttyUSB1: ti_open - no interrupt urb
[41953.191962] ti_usb_3410_5052_1 ttyUSB1: ti_open - no interrupt urb
[41983.491939] ti_usb_3410_5052_1 ttyUSB1: ti_open - no interrupt urb
[42013.792107] ti_usb_3410_5052_1 ttyUSB1: ti_open - no interrupt urb
Local.Admin@Synology:/lib/firmware$


Within Domoticz <hardware> I added "Evohome USB (for HGI/S80)" to connect with /dev/ttyUSB1

Domoticz log:
2016-06-24 09:13:05.065 Error: evohome: Error opening serial port: /dev/ttyUSB1
2016-06-24 09:13:06.069 evohome: serial setup retry in 30 seconds...


What I understand is that the HGI80 driver is available and loaded within the Synology but no data is coming from the HGI80 ?
What goes wrong here ? I spend so much time to got through all the forums to find a solution but without no result.

Rob
Aroby
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby DanD » Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:21 pm

Hi

What package have you used to install Domoticz on your Synology? You may have already searched this info, but other Synology users have been able to run the HGI80 successfully using Jadahl's packages (http://www.jadahl.com/index.html). Here's some discussion on the Synology forums:
https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... &start=435

Hope this is helpful.

Dan
DanD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby Aroby » Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:47 am

Thanks Dan. Yes, I do run Jadahl's packages.
Aroby
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby jdp80 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:38 pm

I've been testing Domoticz with a HGI80 and my Evohome system, which contains a HCC80R (underfloor heating controller) with three zones bound.

I was hoping to be able to monitor each individual zone's activation status, but it doesn't seem possible with the HGI80. The same set of devices get activated regardless of zone.

Here's a debug log sequence captured when setting zone 5 to 30 degrees C:
Code: Select all
2016-08-05 14:49:35 074  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 2349 013 040BB804FFFFFF000F050807E0 (                  ¸ÿÿà)
2016-08-05 14:49:35 evohome: ZONE_SETPOINT_MODE: Setting: 5 (0x529fa): 3000 (2=TemporaryOverride) 2016-08-05 15:00

2016-08-05 14:49:35 073  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 2309 003 040BB8 (   ¸)
2016-08-05 14:49:35 evohome: ZONE_SETPOINT: Setting: 5: 3000

2016-08-05 14:50:04 072  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 1F09 003 FF05A5 (ÿ¥)
2016-08-05 14:50:04 evohome: unknown command 1f09

2016-08-05 14:50:20 073  I --- 34:154319 --:------ 34:154319 30C9 003 0009CC ( Ì)
2016-08-05 14:50:20 evohome: ZONE_TEMP: Zone sensor msg: 0x8a5acf: 0: 2508

2016-08-05 14:51:23 057  I --- 34:154327 --:------ 34:154327 30C9 003 000921 ( !)
2016-08-05 14:51:23 evohome: ZONE_TEMP: Zone sensor msg: 0x8a5ad7: 0: 2337

2016-08-05 14:52:11 045  I --- 02:025259 --:------ 01:076282 3150 002 03C8 (È)
2016-08-05 14:52:11 evohome: HEAT_DEMAND: Zone (0x862ab) DevNo 0x04 200 (0x3150)

2016-08-05 14:52:12 072  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 3150 002 FCC8 (üÈ)
2016-08-05 14:52:12 evohome: HEAT_DEMAND: Zone (0x529fa) DevNo 0xfc 200 (0x3150)

2016-08-05 14:52:12 071  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 0008 002 F9C8 (ùÈ)
2016-08-05 14:52:12 evohome: HEAT_DEMAND: Controller (0x529fa) DevNo 0xf9 200 (0x8)

2016-08-05 14:52:12 063  I --- 13:097920 --:------ 13:097920 3EF0 003 00C8FF (Èÿ)
2016-08-05 14:52:12 evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: ID:0x357e80 (13:97920) DevNo 0x00: 200

2016-08-05 14:52:28 072  I --- 01:076282 --:------ 01:076282 1F09 003 FF05A5 (ÿ¥)
2016-08-05 14:52:28 evohome: unknown command 1f09

2016-08-05 14:52:38 088  I --- 34:138621 --:------ 34:138621 30C9 003 00096C ( l)
2016-08-05 14:52:38 evohome: ZONE_TEMP: Zone sensor msg: 0x8a1d7d: 0: 2412

2016-08-05 14:52:47 045  I --- 02:025259 --:------ 02:025259 0008 002 FCC8 (üÈ)
2016-08-05 14:52:47 evohome: HEAT_DEMAND: Unknown (0x862ab) DevNo 0xfc 200 (0x8)


The sequence seems to be
Zone 5 temperature set
0x862AB device 4 opens (UFH controller)
0x529FA device 252 opens (boiler)
0x529FA device 249 opens ('CH' valve)
After approx. 30s
0x862AB device 252 opens (UFH controller pump/valve output)

I have three UFH zones, and there appears to be no change in the sequence of events regardless of which zone is enabled.

I wonder whether the HCC80R also listens on the bus for temperature events (it is capable of being set up without Evohome)

Is there any more debugging I can do with Domoticz ? It looks like everything the HGI80 captures goes straight to the log.
jdp80
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby DanD » Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:42 pm

Hi,

Sorry for not replying sooner to your post (on the Automated Home forum), I'm away at the moment and don't have access to my development machine. It would be helpful if you could post a screenshot of your Evohome device list in Domoticz as this will give me an idea of all of the device info. It definitely looks like the Domoticz Evohome code doesn't correctly recognise the HCC80R messages/devices as the HGI80 listens to exactly the same messages as the Evohome controller and must be missing some info. Could you also post the similar message log info when you activate one of the other HCC80R zones? The first row of each pair of lines in the log are the raw HGI80 messages and I'm particularly interested in whether the last pair of rows in the log you posted are any different when another zone is calling for heat. Maybe the HCC80R only reports the total heat demand required for all of its zones and this is used by the Evohome controller rather than each individual zone that it controls?

I'll be back online fully in about 2 weeks and will be able to take a look at the command sequences from other systems to see how they compare to yours.

Dan
DanD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby jdp80 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:00 pm

OK great :)

I ran a couple of tests activating zone 3 ('Kitchen') and zone 4 ('Dining room') on successive days.

In both cases the boiler fires up and after a short delay the UFH pump switches on; this I guess is enough time for the relevant actuators to slowly open. I don't see any difference in the two logs though.

Zone 3 log - demand via temp increase at 22.44, off at 22.48
Zone 4 log - demand at 22.41, off at 22.45

My device list is here


Incidentally, more of a Domoticz question, but I no longer see the 'evohome' switch that let me set the quick settings (Economy etc). Was this device only added when using the Honeywell web API scripts?

Thanks!
jdp80
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby DanD » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:29 am

Hi,

Thanks for posting all this detailed information from your system to help troubleshoot.

From the 2 logs you've supplied it definitely confirms that the demand is all reported by the Zone 4 device irrespective of which zone within the HCC80 is calling for heat.

Could you give a little more detail on your Evohome setup? What I'm interested in is which rooms (zones) within Evohome does the HCC80 control? Also, I can't quite see how the heat setpoints are all managed in your set-up as I can only count 2 thermostats (1 DTS92 and possibly an Evohome controller), but maybe I'm not understanding properly how the HCC80 works in an Evohome setup.

Incidentally, more of a Domoticz question, but I no longer see the 'evohome' switch that let me set the quick settings (Economy etc). Was this device only added when using the Honeywell web API scripts?

It's odd that you don't see a Controller device in your device list as this should appear unless you've accidentally deleted it. Which Evohome control panel do you have? If you're still testing out your set-up, I suggest deleting the HGI80 hardware device and adding again to initialise all the device list again.

Dan
DanD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 2016

Re: Evohome / Evotouch Wireless protocol?

Postby jdp80 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:15 pm

Done that a few times with no dice. I might see if I can reinstall my second instance of Domoticz, I tried restarting the controller (Evohome controller with wifi) but still same.

I have following setup:

Evohome controller
BDR91 controlling boiler
BDR91 controlling CH zone valve 1 to radiators (conventional TRVs), DT92e temperature sensor (1)
BDR91 controlling DHW zone valve to unvented cylinder with ATF500DHW kit
BDR91 controlling CH zone valve 2 to towel rails, Y87 temperature sensor (2)
HCC80R with three zones each bound to Y87s controlling the three UFH zones (3,4,5)
jdp80
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Questions & Discussions Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest