Opentherm Gateway

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTG) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby wwolkers » Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:17 am

There are more than enough people willing to buy them, I went through my batch of 10 in 2 days, and there are more requests open. You should have no problem getting them sold, as long as the price is fair.
wwolkers
Member
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby vanisher » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:03 am

If it's working with the Remeha Calenta count me in also (if the price is right ofcourse).
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Digit » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:59 am

Vanisher, don't worry. I have a Calenta and it works just fine.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby FoRMaTC » Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:36 am

I ordered a batch of 10, lets see how long it takes
FoRMaTC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby hvxl » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:54 pm

FoRMaTC, if you want I can already mention your name on the web site so people can contact you. That way you may have sold all boards already by the time they arrive.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: June 2010

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby yjb » Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:30 pm

Just wondering; I've got a Remeha Quinta connected to a Celcia-20. If that setup is supported I'm interested in a PCB as well.
yjb
Member
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: April 2009
Location: Venhuizen, Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby vanisher » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:47 pm

Digit wrote:Vanisher, don't worry. I have a Calenta and it works just fine.


Great!!
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby sj3fk3 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:52 pm

FoRMaTC wrote:I ordered a batch of 10, lets see how long it takes


Cool! Count me in as well!
Kind Regards,
Greg.
User avatar
sj3fk3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 2012
Location: Abcoude

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby FoRMaTC » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:35 am

hvxl wrote:FoRMaTC, if you want I can already mention your name on the web site so people can contact you. That way you may have sold all boards already by the time they arrive.



I think you already did ;)
FoRMaTC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby mo046 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:01 pm

FoRMaTC wrote:I ordered a batch of 10, lets see how long it takes


Count me in as well!
** Maurice **
mo046
Member
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby esschenk » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:17 pm

Count me in as well!

Ed
User avatar
esschenk
Member
Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby WooTz » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:34 pm

stupid question maybe, but im checking your schematic, I see a 24VDC supply, however the trafo is only 15 VAC? Any plans on releasing an Ethernet version?
WooTz
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: June 2011

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby fabian » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:38 am

WooTz wrote:stupid question maybe, but im checking your schematic, I see a 24VDC supply, however the trafo is only 15 VAC?


I'f i'm not mistaken, adding a diode bridge as rectifier to a 15V AC powersupply creates a DC voltage of carrot(2) * 15V - ~ 0,6 (per diode) ~= 20V DC with a small ripple which can be filterd out with capacitor C1.
I've even meassured 27V on X1. It drops after connecting a load.

http://tclcode.com/opentherm/debugging.html#power has detailed information on the voltages which can be expected.

FoRMaTC wrote:

Volgens mij ken ik jou ;)
fabian
Member
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: December 2010
Location: NL, Zuidhorn

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby hvxl » Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:01 pm

fabian wrote:I'f i'm not mistaken, adding a diode bridge as rectifier to a 15V AC powersupply creates a DC voltage of carrot(2) * 15V - ~ 0,6 (per diode) ~= 20V DC with a small ripple which can be filterd out with capacitor C1.

In addition, the voltage listed for transformers is the voltage they are able to produce while drawing the maximum current. The opentherm gateway circuitry doesn't use much power. As a result the actual voltage out of the transformer is higher than 15V, probably closer to 18V. In my first prototype I used an 18V AC transformer and ended up with a DC voltage close to 30V. That's why I chose a 15V transformer this time, which brought the DC voltage much closer to my target of 24V. But the value is not very critical, a DC voltage anywhere between 20V and 35V will work.

WooTz wrote:Any plans on releasing an Ethernet version?

Not by me. But I've had inquiries by someone who was considering doing that. I don't know if he's planning to publish his modifications, though.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: June 2010

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby FoRMaTC » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:12 am

I will have a look tomorrow and check with my collegues to make it somehow wireless/ethernet
FoRMaTC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Opentherm Gateway Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest