Opentherm Gateway

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTG) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Bwired » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:17 pm

Done :)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby vanisher » Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:11 pm

hvxl wrote:Jan-Jacob,

It can take a while for the setpoint change to be picked up by the thermostat. Can you post logs of your attempts somewhere? In otmonitor, go to 'File -> Save to logfile' to start recording the messages to a file.

Schelte.


Hi Schelte,

I found out that i had to enable 'remote access' on the isense. It was disabled by default. Now it's working!

Thanks!
Jan-Jacob
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby hvxl » Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:34 pm

vanisher wrote:I found out that i had to enable 'remote access' on the isense. It was disabled by default. Now it's working!


Jan-Jacob,

Great that it's working for you now. I've had reports before that something had to be enabled on the iSense, but it has never been clear to me exactly which setting should be changed. When I look at the installation manual, my best guess would be "Settings -> Installer -> Remote Input" (Or for Dutch devices: "Instellingen -> Installateur -> Externe ingang"). However, according to the same manual, the factory setting for that one is already "Allow". Can you indicate exactly which setting you had to change and where it is in the menu structure? That could be helpful for the next person with an iSense that comes along.


Schelte.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: June 2010

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Lennart » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:07 pm

Ok, the OpenTherm Gateway boards I ordered have arrived! These boards are blue with ENIG finish (= golden pads for good solderability). I have about 5 boards left for sale. Same price as set by Akatar (EUR 6,50). If you're interested, you can send me a PM.

UPDATE: all available boards have been reserved.

Lennart

Image

Image
Last edited by Lennart on Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lennart
Member
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: July 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby vanisher » Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:12 pm

@Schelte, when i''m at home i will write down the options.

For now i see an Error 01 once in a while:

11:34:55.114178 Thermostat disconnected
11:34:55.150168 Error 01

In a 16 hour period about 19 times.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby hvxl » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:37 pm

vanisher wrote:@Schelte, when i''m at home i will write down the options.

For now i see an Error 01 once in a while:

11:34:55.114178 Thermostat disconnected
11:34:55.150168 Error 01

In a 16 hour period about 19 times.

First off: 19 errors in 16 hours is not really something to be worried about.

Does the "Thermostat disconnected" message accompany the error every time? That message indicates that the line towards the thermostat has been high for 10 ms, which should not happen during normal communication. It actually sounds more like a bad contact than just a transition at the wrong time.

However, if you don't normally see the disconnected message and the errors bother you, you could try issuing an IT=1 command to the gateway. That disables the check that results in the error 01 report if it fails.

Schelte
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: June 2010

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Francois » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:48 am

Je hebt een PM !

1 voor mij graag.
Francois
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Templar » Sat Sep 29, 2012 1:34 pm

Lennart, I am interested but can't send a PM. :(
Templar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: March 2011
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Lennart » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:42 pm

@Templar: you've got a PM.
Lennart
Member
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: July 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Sanka » Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:40 am

Hi,

If there is one left over I'm interested.

Sanka
Sanka
Member
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: January 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby gvdham » Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:43 pm

Me too, maybe start a new batch? How did u all program the PIC?
gvdham
Member
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: October 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Rene » Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 pm

@Schelte: Just connected the gateway to my newly installed Remeha Calenta CW6 and iSense. Everything seems to be working OK. Is it correct the Opentherm Smart Power feature is not supported? The backlight of the iSense is not working without batteries when the gateway is in between.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Lennart » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:59 am

For anyone still interested in a board: I'm willing to have another batch made. See this topic:

http://domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=7848

Lennart
Lennart
Member
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: July 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby hvxl » Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:54 pm

Rene wrote:Is it correct the Opentherm Smart Power feature is not supported? The backlight of the iSense is not working without batteries when the gateway is in between.

That is correct. For one thing, I don't know the exact specifications for the Smart Power feature. They are not described in version 2.2 of the OpenTherm Protocol Specification, which is the only version I was able to find on the internet. And even if the specifications would be available, I suspect adding this feature would complicate the interface circuitry quite a bit.

But if anyone has those specifications, I would be interested to see them. Maybe I will be able to come up with a solution.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: June 2010

Re: Opentherm Gateway

Postby Michelo » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:30 pm

Just a thought : OT 3.0 thermostats are backwards compatible with the old spec. I think an OT 3.0 thermostat requests to the boiler if it support smartpower (deliver low, medium or high current). With the reply of the boiler the thermostat knows that it can use the backlight. With no reply the thermostat thinks that smartpower is not supported (low) and will rely on battery power for the backlight.

Isn't it a case of finding the right bits to convince the thermostat it can use the backlight?
Michelo
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: October 2011

PreviousNext

Return to Opentherm Gateway Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron