Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Forum about Toon hardware, both versions 1 and 2 of Toon

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, TerrorSource, Toonz

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby warp » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:37 pm

Hi all,
I just installed a second-hand toon, rooted it successfully, toonstore is installed and working.
The gas meter works correctly as well.
I'm now stuck with the boiler module. It has the opentherm logo on the back.
I have a viessmann boiler, which is compatible with openterm.
I also have a remote (Vitotrol 200A) which is, if I'm not wrong, communicating with the opentherm protocol.
(according to the manual it is connected to the boiler on the km-bus).

In the overview setup menu, there's a green flag on the boiler module.

I first tried to connect to toon boiler module instead of the remote.
I then click on the refresh icon in the boiler setup menu (that menu shows "Opentherm" with a selector that does nothing, then "stop/start" and close to that the refresh icon), and I can hear a kind of relay (closing ?). It does nothing apparently, then again the relay (opening ?) after 3-4 seconds.

Since several remotes can be installed on the same bus, I then connected the boiler module in parallel to the remote.
I hit the refresh icon, same relay sound, nothing happens, then again the relay.
During that time the (original) boiler remote still works.

Is there something I should do ?
Thanks.
Warp
Last edited by warp on Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
warp
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: August 2019

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:59 pm

The toon opentherm boilermodule doesn't allow any parallel operation.
Also, when in aan/uit it will work as a simpele relay (what you already described). In fact, that relay switch for a few seconds is just the boilermodule trying to detect opentherm and if not falling back to aan/uit.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: August 2017

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby warp » Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:06 pm

That’s also my guess : the relay switches to opentherm, tries to detect, then comes back to on/off mode.
What I don’t understand is why the original thermostat works, and the toon does not.
I will search further to see if there would be a confit in the boiler itself.
I will also make sure the remote uses the opentherm protocol (what I’m not 100% sure)
warp
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: August 2019

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby TheHogNL » Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:47 pm

Probably because it doesn't support opentherm natively :-) Maybe you need an extra module for opentherm support on the boiler. I'm not familiair with viesmann.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: August 2017

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby warp » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:04 pm

So...indeed my boiler does not support opentherm. Point.
Actually I’m lucky I didn’t break anything.
There’s a gateway, but it cost 400€ !!
Not sure it’s worth the price.
warp
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: August 2019

Re: Hardware: Toon boiler module, "ketelmodule"

Postby Templar » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:38 pm

marcelr wrote:I'm having some issues logging the thermostat code output. Will try again this weekend.


Hi marcelr,

Have you managed to find out if the ketelmodule is working in back to back mode?
Templar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: March 2011
Location: Netherlands

Previous

Return to Toon Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest