Toon firmware - update script

Forum about the Toon firmware, and its extensions

Moderators: marcelr, Toonz, TheHogNL, TerrorSource

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby TerrorSource » Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:22 pm

pkaak wrote:is 5.33.9 the latest stable version for the Toon 1?


It's not the last version. 5.33.100, 5.35.100 and 5.36.100 are newer but we do not recommend to install that.
5.33.9 is the last version we support at the moment.

ArieKanarie wrote:Is it advisable to revert to an older firmware version? I while ago I upgraded (not sure what version) but the load on the Toon is too heavy and it is almost constantly rebooting.
I deleted almost every app, only afvalwijzer, calendar and wifiqr are installed.
For now I changed the domoticz script to get toon data every 15 minutes to be able to use the toon.


Might but not sure if that works. Toon1 is a "slow" device and has just a bit of memory. Toon2 on the other hand is way faster.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 481
Joined: May 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby khunterh » Sat Dec 05, 2020 3:59 pm

I have done a toonrestore because he didnit want to do anything after updaten to 5.33.9. The restore was succesfull.
But now he will not update .
It looks like the VPN tunnel is not working.
=======================================
Alright, I will try to upgrade to 5.33.9
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Could not enable VPN in a normal reasonable time!
DEBUG information:
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlan0 scope link src 192.168.1.10
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlan0 metric 10
# <persistent /etc/hosts content can be added to /etc/hosts.template file>
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost eneco-001-000000
172.24.16.1 feed.hae.int feed
127.0.0.1 ping.quby.nl
END DEBUG information
Quitting the upgrade. It was a nice try tho...
killall: openvpn: no process killed
============================================

Anyone an idea how to fix this ?
khunterh
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 2020

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby TheHogNL » Sun Dec 06, 2020 8:41 pm

khunterh wrote:I have done a toonrestore because he didnit want to do anything after updaten to 5.33.9. The restore was succesfull.
But now he will not update .
It looks like the VPN tunnel is not working.
=======================================
Alright, I will try to upgrade to 5.33.9
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Could not enable VPN in a normal reasonable time!
DEBUG information:
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlan0 scope link src 192.168.1.10
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlan0 metric 10
# <persistent /etc/hosts content can be added to /etc/hosts.template file>
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost eneco-001-000000
172.24.16.1 feed.hae.int feed
127.0.0.1 ping.quby.nl
END DEBUG information
Quitting the upgrade. It was a nice try tho...
killall: openvpn: no process killed
============================================

Anyone an idea how to fix this ?


You mean toonrecovery? Did you backup and restore the vpn keys during the recovery? Please check your /etc/openvpn directory.
The toonrecovery menu should guide you into backing up and restoring your keys. Did you miss that?
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby khunterh » Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:07 pm

Sorry , yes i missed that. Luckely i have a second rooted Toon and compared the directories. At the end i copied the complete directory en renamed the toon hostname also. So now i have two identical Toons exept the IP-adres. But it is upgraded now and both are working fine.
I thougt i could pick one of the menu. I wanted to restore so i started with that one. Then he says you havo to format first. So i did. Never understand i had to start with one.
But for now it is solved for me. Thanks for your reply and the good work.
khunterh
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 2020

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby TheHogNL » Mon Dec 07, 2020 8:04 am

khunterh wrote:Sorry , yes i missed that. Luckely i have a second rooted Toon and compared the directories. At the end i copied the complete directory en renamed the toon hostname also. So now i have two identical Toons exept the IP-adres. But it is upgraded now and both are working fine.
I thougt i could pick one of the menu. I wanted to restore so i started with that one. Then he says you havo to format first. So i did. Never understand i had to start with one.
But for now it is solved for me. Thanks for your reply and the good work.


I think it even warns that the vpn key will be gone if you remove it without backing up (using option 1) :lol:

Two identical toons are ok, as long as they are used as rooted toons. Don't sell the fake toon with the duplicate key as a regular toon anymore though!
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby EricV » Sun Dec 27, 2020 9:27 pm

It's not the last version. 5.33.100, 5.35.100 and 5.36.100 are newer but we do not recommend to install that.
5.33.9 is the last version we support at the moment.


Hi,
I have succesfully rooted my Toon1. Thanks to you guys here, nice job. Thermostate works fine, better then the Honewell which it has replaced.

However the software version is 5.36.100. Which seems to be a not-preferred option.

What to do: should I install the 5.33.9 software? And if so, how to do that? The update script does not want to install an older software version (makes sense).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eric
EricV
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 2020

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby TerrorSource » Mon Dec 28, 2020 9:54 am

EricV wrote:
It's not the last version. 5.33.100, 5.35.100 and 5.36.100 are newer but we do not recommend to install that.
5.33.9 is the last version we support at the moment.


Hi,
I have succesfully rooted my Toon1. Thanks to you guys here, nice job. Thermostate works fine, better then the Honewell which it has replaced.

However the software version is 5.36.100. Which seems to be a not-preferred option.

What to do: should I install the 5.33.9 software? And if so, how to do that? The update script does not want to install an older software version (makes sense).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eric


5.36.100 > 5.33.9 is downgrading and thats not easy and recommended.

Just run the fixes and you should be fine.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 481
Joined: May 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby EricV » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:22 am

Ok, thanks. I already ran the update script with success, directly after rooting.

Everything is working fine, for about two months now. Quite happy with the result.
I was just wondering why the remark was made, in one of the previous posts, that upgrading to the newest version (5.36.100) was not (yet) recommended.
EricV
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 2020

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby TerrorSource » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:35 am

EricV wrote:Ok, thanks. I already ran the update script with success, directly after rooting.

Everything is working fine, for about two months now. Quite happy with the result.
I was just wondering why the remark was made, in one of the previous posts, that upgrading to the newest version (5.36.100) was not (yet) recommended.


Correct, we advise users to stay on 5.33.9 as later versions are not "officially" released yet and some are pulled.

for example:
5.33.100
5.35.100
5.36.100
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 481
Joined: May 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby mAiden » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:39 am

There is nothing new in 5.36.100, no reason to update. These are test versions only because Quby is working on AWS.
Again we strongly advise against updating to these versions, stay at 5.33.9..
If you are going to update to 1 of these versions, such as 5.36.100, it is at your own risk !!
Member of the Toon Software Collective
mAiden
Member
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: July 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby EricV » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:54 am

If you are going to update to 1 of these versions, such as 5.36.100, it is at your own risk !!


This was exactly what made me concerned. And why i asked if it would be benificial to ‘downgrade’.
How difficult is downgrading? Start all over again from the beginning of the rooting process?
EricV
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 2020

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby mAiden » Mon Dec 28, 2020 11:25 am

EricV wrote:
If you are going to update to 1 of these versions, such as 5.36.100, it is at your own risk !!


This was exactly what made me concerned. And why i asked if it would be benificial to ‘downgrade’.
How difficult is downgrading? Start all over again from the beginning of the rooting process?


Downgrade can with ToonRecovery, but you lose all of you're data!
If it works now, stay on it. Then you will not lose your data.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
mAiden
Member
Member
 
Posts: 322
Joined: July 2017

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Postby ArieKanarie » Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:01 pm

TerrorSource wrote:Might but not sure if that works. Toon1 is a "slow" device and has just a bit of memory. Toon2 on the other hand is way faster.

Thanks, i guess I start looking for a toon2 then. Now it is not really workable.
ArieKanarie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 2018

Previous

Return to Toon Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest