Page 2 of 3

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:16 pm
by hvxl
Oops. I removed the screen from WifiTile, but forgot to remove it from WifiApp as well. The screen was just something I used for debugging.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:41 pm
by marcog
hvxl wrote:
marcog wrote:This is a very nice idea. I noticed you try to show the Wifi info from the connection info of the Toon itself. It would be very appreciated to have the possibility to enter a guest wifi SSID and password aswell.
What do you mean "try"? Does it not work?

I mentioned the desire for alternative wifi settings myself a few posts ago. But it requires quite some additional functionality: A configuration screen to enter the information, reading and saving a configuration file, and picking the data from 2 different sources.
I just tried your app and it's working great. I changed (hard coded) the app to reflect my guest wifi network instead of the SSID from the Toon config. When having time I'll try to create a config screen and read/write it to a config file. Never tries qml myself.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:17 pm
by newwolf
hvxl wrote:Oops. I removed the screen from WifiTile, but forgot to remove it from WifiApp as well. The screen was just something I used for debugging.
It's working now, thanks.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:09 pm
by hvxl
Version 4 now has a configuration screen that can be accessed by tapping the tile. The configuration screen provides the possibility to define a different wifi network than the one used by toon.

One security concern may be that a guest could conceivably open the configuration screen and switch the setting from the guest wifi network back to the main wifi network and gain access the local network. In such situations it may be best to block any unknown MAC addresses from connecting to the main wifi network.

This version also escapes any special characters in the SSID or password.

The app is getting close to being ready to go into the Toon store. I just don't know if it works/looks OK on a Toon 2.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:59 pm
by marcelr
Toon2 has a different screen resolution, otherwise there shouldn't be a problem. Please checkout the guidelines for toon apps to go into the toonstore. The packaging environment for the apps is fairly strict regarding naming convention and upper/lower case.

You can find the guidelines here (some bits regarding image resolution are a bit outdated for toon2, but otherwise they still hold):

viewtopic.php?f=100&t=11235#p83091

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:19 pm
by RobbieT
Damn quys! You are quick :-). Very nice implementation :-)

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:23 pm
by TerrorSource
hvxl wrote:Version 4 now has a configuration screen that can be accessed by tapping the tile. The configuration screen provides the possibility to define a different wifi network than the one used by toon.

One security concern may be that a guest could conceivably open the configuration screen and switch the setting from the guest wifi network back to the main wifi network and gain access the local network. In such situations it may be best to block any unknown MAC addresses from connecting to the main wifi network.

This version also escapes any special characters in the SSID or password.

The app is getting close to being ready to go into the Toon store. I just don't know if it works/looks OK on a Toon 2.
You can contact one of the TSC-team members when you want to submit the app to the ToonStore if you’re ready.
All members of TSC-team have a Toon1 and Toon2 to test with so we can always try and give you advise if needed.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:28 pm
by Toonz
I will publish the app in the ToonStore somewhere this week.
I can already tell you the app doesn't work on 4.x firmwares as it is now because specific Qt 2 modules are used which do not exist in Qt 1.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:28 pm
by Toonz
Hi all,

the app by hvxl is now available in the ToonStore (version 1.0).

Note for hvxl: I had to change the filenames ("QR" into lower case) due to limitations in the bitbake environment.
The app is only available for firmware 5 and higher in the ToonStore.

Kind regardz,

Toonz

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:36 pm
by hvxl
I'm sorry. I thought the lowercase limitation was only for the first letter. Thanks for fixing it.

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:14 pm
by Toonz
Hi all,

a small maintenance release 1.1 is available in the ToonStore.
Changelog:
- settings are now stored in the /mnt/data/tsc/ folder
- firmware 5 compatible only, support for lower firmwares has been dropped

Kind regardz,

Toonz

EDIT: corrected the folder name

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:50 pm
by Templar
Toonz wrote:Hi all,

a small maintenance release 1.1 is available in the ToonStore.
Changelog:
- settings are now stored in the mnt/tsc/data folder
- firmware 5 compatible only, support for lower firmwares has been dropped

Kind regardz,

Toonz
<cough> /mnt/data/tsc folder </cough>

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:34 pm
by Toonz
Templar wrote:<cough> /mnt/data/tsc folder </cough>
Check :) Actually I am quite happy that at least someone is reading the changelogs :-)

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:15 pm
by TerrorSource
There's a typo in the code which causes the "Enter password" field to be under the keyboard when entering the Wifi credentials manually.
Testen on Toon1 and Toon2, firmware 5.18.8

Edit Network > opens new screen
Edit Password > input field is hidden underneath the keyboard.

Line 34:
if (location === 0) {
Must be:
if (location == 0) {

Also found another typo:
Line 113:
text: qsTr("Manual network sepcification")
Must be:
text: qsTr("Manual network specification")

Is it possible to have the manuall password field not start with uppercase?

Re: Wifi QR code app

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:04 am
by Joskep
Hello! Maybe an idea?
I would like that the key is not visible, so a guest on my guest network uses the QR but only see.s ********* .

Is that an possibility?
I think its better for safety AND just because its nice ;-)