Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

If your (rooted) Toon doesn't do what it's supposed to, post here. Dutch allowed / Posten in 't Nederlands toegestaan.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

oepi-loepi
Member
Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:18 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by oepi-loepi »

EJanus wrote:Only the Toonstore with the Buienradar and calender app.
Just an idea.. if you also remove the buienradar app and the calender app? Then the only rooting change is the toonstore and the tsc menu/script.

Let me try on one of my demo toon 1’s
EJanus
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:07 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by EJanus »

Yes, you are right. Of course I should have tested this myself.

I deleted both apps last Sunday. That day I did not observe any reboots. It's a little too early to draw a conclusion, but it looks promising.

If the reboots stay away, I will install both apps one at a time to see if and when the reboots occur again.
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by Toonz »

I suspect the calendar app is the culprit.
Not so much the app itself but merely the size of the calendars to be processed can be an issue, especially on a Toon 1.
It will help tremendously if you purge old calendar items from your calendar(s)

Kind regardz,

Toonz
member of the Toon Software Collective
EJanus
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:07 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by EJanus »

I think you are correct. With the Calander App Toon reboots at random moments. Whitout the app it doesn't.

Problem solved. I won't use the app anymore (I don't want to purge old calendar items).

Thanks Toonz and oepi-loepi for helping me out!
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

I wondered if there is a way to determine how many times the Toon reboots.
As a noob i found out that in normal Linux you can extract that from the logs, but that doesn't work on the Toon.

Then I wrote a little shell script that appends the time and date in a file and added that to init.d.
Alas that only seems to work if I do a reboot from the command line (reboot) or if I push the reset button.

Where would that script have to be to make it work on unexpected reboots?
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2044
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by TheHogNL »

On a real reboot it should work but you are probably looking at a restart of the GUI (qt-gui process).
The toon almost never reboots completly. It is often only this GUI process.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

Thanks. Is there a way to catch that event? Or is that impossible?
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2044
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by TheHogNL »

PetervdK wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 10:00 pm Thanks. Is there a way to catch that event? Or is that impossible?
It is starts with the bash script /usr/bin/startqt (using the init process)
You can just add some lines to this script to log or add a counter somewhere.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

Great, will try that. Thanks a lot! :D
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

Couldn't find the time earlier, but it works now, thanks!
I just found out it is restarting almost every hour, sometimes even 3 times in 15 minutes... :o :cry:
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by Toonz »

PetervdK wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 8:41 pm Couldn't find the time earlier, but it works now, thanks!
I just found out it is restarting almost every hour, sometimes even 3 times in 15 minutes... :o :cry:
which apps have you installed from the ToonStore?
member of the Toon Software Collective
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

I have running:
Buienradar
Kalender
Afvalkalender
Solar panels
Webcam
Boiler stats

I ran the update script with the -f flag yesterday and after that i removed the unit from power for 10 minutes.
It has now restarted only twice after that so far, and the screen is much more responsive.
Will see how long that lasts.

Got an error about downloading some tsc stuff while running the script btw, don't know if that could have been the cause.
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2044
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by TheHogNL »

That is way too much for a toon1. I can run 2 or 3 apps but more that that can cause memory issue's and therefore reboots
Member of the Toon Software Collective
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by Toonz »

removing the kalender app will probably help you most.
Especially when you have many old items in your calender, purging old items will address this as well
member of the Toon Software Collective
PetervdK
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: Toon 1 keeps rebooting (5.46.4)

Post by PetervdK »

TheHogNL wrote: Wed Jun 22, 2022 7:29 pm That is way too much for a toon1. I can run 2 or 3 apps but more that that can cause memory issue's and therefore reboots
It ran fine until i had to update to a newer fw version because of the afvalkalender.
Sometimes it was only terribly slow after a while but it had no further problems (as far as i could see).

After that it started to reboot frequently and it sometimes hangs completely (only visible because the time was wrong).

I really regret that i did that because a little while later our provider changed and i could use on of the default providers in the app instead of the manual option.
Post Reply

Return to “Toon issues and support (Nederlands toegestaan)”