Problems activating a resetted Toon

Everything about rooting Toons 1 and 2.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

Post Reply
EricvL
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 2:54 pm

Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by EricvL »

Hi guys,

I'm trying to activate a factory resetted Toon by using the router script procedure. I can connect the Toon to the ToonRouter network, but the setup wizard doesn't provide an activation button afterwards. Instead, the following screen is shown:
Toon.png
Toon.png (106.31 KiB) Viewed 599 times
I tried tapping the "Activeren bij Service Center" bar itself, but nothing seems to be working.
Does anybody know what's going wrong here? Thanks for any help in advance!

Kind regards,
Eric
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by TheHogNL »

The activate button only appears if the toon has a valid connection to the internet AND it can connect over the Toon VPN to the toon servers. That last thing could not be working if the toon isn't having valid VPN certificates (which a lot of 2nd hands toons have now). Only way to root these toons are using the hardware method.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
oepi-loepi
Member
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:18 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by oepi-loepi »

Indeed. Stop trying and use the hardware method. All toons showing this screen for more than 10 minutes have a vpn failure. Only hardware rooting is possible.
EricvL
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by EricvL »

OK, thanks for your help guys.
That will pose another challenge for me then: this is a R10 Toon and I only have a JTAG. I always used this JTAG through PuTTY in Windows.
I read that for R10 Toons, you have to use an updated version of OpenOCD, so I guess this procedure will only work through Linux, right?
Thanks again for your help!

Kind regards,
Eric
hebeanflorin
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:50 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by hebeanflorin »

Hi! Did you solve the problem? I have the same problem, I tried like Toon team recommended with a HotSpot connection but did not work.
Daniel
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by Daniel »

hebeanflorin wrote: Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:51 pm Hi! Did you solve the problem? I have the same problem, I tried like Toon team recommended with a HotSpot connection but did not work.
Did you read what oepilope wrote?
oepi-loepi
Member
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:18 pm

Re: Problems activating a resetted Toon

Post by oepi-loepi »

Daniel wrote: Mon Sep 19, 2022 4:55 pm
hebeanflorin wrote: Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:51 pm Hi! Did you solve the problem? I have the same problem, I tried like Toon team recommended with a HotSpot connection but did not work.
Did you read what oepilope wrote?

Again… on toon 1, when in factory reset mode, if you do not see the activate button when connected to a network within 1 hour you cannot use the software root method. In that case you will open the toon and use the hardware method. If you do not know linux or do not have the materials, search in Marktplaats for “rooten toon”. Services are provided there.
Post Reply

Return to “Toon Rooting”