Toon firmware - update script

Forum about the Toon firmware, and its extensions

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by TheHogNL »

TheHogNL wrote:

Code: Select all

>> upgrade OK: removing cached package files...
HCBv2 apps started via runlvls, preparing startables for next boot.
HCBv2 adding: comm eventmgr kpi pwrusage scsync smartplug thermstat usermsg weather bxtproxy config log rrd watchdog hue p1 zwave lighttpd.
HCBv2 startables unchanged, not writing /etc/inittab.
>> Done, scheduling reboot in 2 secs...
>> 2019-01-25 14:33:13 +0000 (pid 10064) executed
>> 2019-01-25 14:33:13 +0000 (pid 10064) exit-0 execute-ok-upgrade-qb2.sh 'qb2 uni 5.0.4 execute'
So at the end of the logs everything looks fine.
Not sure why the root update script stopped. Better check /etc/default/iptables.conf before rebooting to make sure port 22 is still open.
Found out what happened thanks to wickedmaster with same issue. Normally the script exists after 15 minutes of running. However the update only took about 8 minutes. Anyway the 15 minutes, or rather a 900 sec counter got to the end. This was because of the sleep command failing during busybox update and hitting the 900 counter limit to fast due to that.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
jossie67
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by jossie67 »

Code: Select all

#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 22 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
Yes port 22 is still in so I will reboot
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by Toonz »

jossie67 wrote:

Code: Select all

#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 22 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
Yes port 22 is still in so I will reboot
Uhmm, the line is commented out (#). Probably lost access now.....
member of the Toon Software Collective
jossie67
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by jossie67 »

Toonz wrote:
jossie67 wrote:

Code: Select all

#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 22 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
Yes port 22 is still in so I will reboot
Uhmm, the line is commented out (#). Probably lost access now.....

not yet, I didn't reboot, I was doubting :-)

I have to uncomment

This is my tables now

Code: Select all

##############################################################################
*nat
:PREROUTING ACCEPT [0:0]
:POSTROUTING ACCEPT [0:0]
:OUTPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
COMMIT
##############################################################################
*filter
:INPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
:FORWARD ACCEPT [0:0]
:OUTPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
:HCB-INPUT - [0:0]
-A INPUT -j HCB-INPUT
-A FORWARD -j HCB-INPUT
-A HCB-INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
# These are all closed for Quby/Toon:
#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 22 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p udp -m udp --sport 67:68 --dport 67:68 -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 137:138 -j ACCEPT
-A HCB-INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
-A HCB-INPUT -i tap+ -j ACCEPT
-A HCB-INPUT -i tun+ -j ACCEPT
-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j DROP
-A HCB-INPUT -p udp -m udp -j DROP
COMMIT
##############################################################################
Do I have to uncomment these ?

Code: Select all

# These are all closed for Quby/Toon:
#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 22 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 --tcp-flags SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p udp -m udp --sport 67:68 --dport 67:68 -j ACCEPT
#-A HCB-INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 137:138 -j ACCEPT

Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by Toonz »

Absolutely yes !!!! Especially port 22.
member of the Toon Software Collective
jossie67
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by jossie67 »

Yes,
I reboot, could connect to Toon with putty
and did
./upgrade_rooted.sh -v 5.0.4

Now the upgrade was succesfull!
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by hvxl »

TheHogNL wrote:BTW: could you share your apps?
I'm afraid my apps are not really fit for general use. They rely heavily on a local web server for producing the necessary data. Also they are not all that spectacular. Just things like showing the current solar power, but obtained from a serial port on my specific brand of inverter instead of the standard toon method.
Schelte
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by TheHogNL »

hvxl wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:BTW: could you share your apps?
I'm afraid my apps are not really fit for general use. They rely heavily on a local web server for producing the necessary data. Also they are not all that spectacular. Just things like showing the current solar power, but obtained from a serial port on my specific brand of inverter instead of the standard toon method.
You know you could feed that info into the meteradapter as a self-made simulated pulse signal (imp/kwh)? Then you could use the original zonoptoon tiles. I'm doing something like that also.

Just use a Pi Zero, ESP32 or something to get the serial data from your inverter, translate the Watts to imp/kwh and let a digital output pulse at that frequency. Using the correct wiring you don't need a pulsing led. Just S0 interfacing.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by hvxl »

TheHogNL wrote:You know you could feed that info into the meteradapter as a self-made simulated pulse signal (imp/kwh)?
I know you could do that, if you have a meter adapter compatible with zonoptoon. Unfortunately I have the older model.
Schelte
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by TheHogNL »

Currently the update script is not working on a Toon 1 due to a BUG in Eneco/Quby's own script.
This result in the message after downloading the update files: /mnt/data/update/upgrade-qb2.sh: line 855: syntax error: unterminated quoted string
They update this script today with this big.
So we now wait for quby to fix this.. shouldn't take long I guess for them to figure out :-)
Member of the Toon Software Collective
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by TheHogNL »

TheHogNL wrote: So we now wait for quby to fix this.. shouldn't take long I guess for them to figure out :-)
And why we wait if we can fix their bug... :-) newest root update script fixes their bug. So you can keep updating again.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by Toonz »

Really? Is Quby deploying update scripts to production without even test it once? Really?
Unbelievable, better hire some students then for your product development.....

Funny enough, they probably don't notice because there is still update activity via your script... :lol:
member of the Toon Software Collective
brommetje
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 3:31 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by brommetje »

Hi all,
When I try to update with the update script I got the following message.

Code: Select all

eneco-001-132690:~# ./update-rooted.sh -v 5.0.4
==============================================================================================================================================================
Welcome to the rooted Toon upgrade script. This script will try to upgrade your Toon using your original connection with Eneco. It will start the VPN if necessary.
Please be advised that running this script is at your own risk!
Version: 3.53  - TheHogNL & TerrorSource & yjb - 25-1-2019
=============================================================================================================================================================
Forcing version: 5.0.4
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Now starting the VPN tunnel and waiting for it to be alive and configured...
Tunnel is alive and configured.
Warning: upgrade script from source server is changed. Do you want to continue downloading the files (if not sure, type no and report in the forums)?
Is it save to continue?
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by TheHogNL »

They change their code again (fixed the bug they had). New version 3.55 accepts this change, so go ahead and update.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
brommetje
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 3:31 pm

Re: Toon firmware - update script

Post by brommetje »

Thanks @TheHogNL new version 3.55 is working fine I just upgraded my toon1 from 4.19.10 to 5.0.4.

Just another question I do not know if it has to do with the update to 5.0.4 but my brightness settings of the screen doesn't work any more.
Normally it set 50% (Helderheid 50%) dim after 1 min but is going to completely black.
In settings it is now set to Helderheid scherm actief 50% and dimstand 30% or 10% but is going always to completely black, It doesn't matter what I change/set.

Any suggestions?
Post Reply

Return to “Toon Firmware”