Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Forum about forum-provided applications on Toon

Moderators: marcelr, TerrorSource, Toonz, TheHogNL

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Luc_S » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:01 am

Awesome, thank you. Have a great time!
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: June 2018

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Hussar_303 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:51 pm

I'm waiting to see News about this project as well, I'm starting to find my way but the discussed ideas would make my life easier!
Hussar_303
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Phoolie » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:02 pm

Toonz wrote:
Luc_S wrote:@Toonz, it would be awesome if you (or someone else of course) could update the ToonStore version with the one now on Github :) If there's anything I can do to help out for this let me know.


no problem, will be in late August after my holiday

Do you know, when the latest version on the ToonStore will be updated?
Phoolie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Toonz » Thu Sep 26, 2019 7:53 pm

Phoolie wrote:Do you know, when the latest version on the ToonStore will be updated?

Thanks for the reminder, totally forgot about this :shock:
....soon.....
member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1311
Joined: December 2016

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Phoolie » Fri Sep 27, 2019 11:06 am

Toonz wrote:
Phoolie wrote:Do you know, when the latest version on the ToonStore will be updated?

Thanks for the reminder, totally forgot about this :shock:
....soon.....

No problem. I'll juist wait :)
Phoolie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Toonz » Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:38 pm

Hi all,

version 1.0.4 is available in ToonStore.
I just took the latest version from the GitHub from Luc_S.
for the changelog see some posts above

Kind regards,

Toonz
member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1311
Joined: December 2016

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Phoolie » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:05 pm

After the update, it looks like something isn’t okay, the switches on the settings screen are missing:
492A6B74-2964-4B59-994E-556E86FDB768.jpeg
492A6B74-2964-4B59-994E-556E86FDB768.jpeg (67.28 KiB) Viewed 997 times


Somebody know how to fix it?
Phoolie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Luc_S » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:22 pm

I haven't installed the app from the ToonStore yet, I will when I have the time. For now I would say try to check the drawables folder on your Toon and compare it with the files on GitHub:

github.com/Luc-S/Toon-HASS/tree/master/ ... /drawables

Should be the same files as you have on your Toon in folder
Code: Select all
/HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/drawables/


You can try to press the empty space anyway, maybe it still works. Else you can manually change your userSettings.json to how you would set the buttons as a workaround:

Code: Select all
{"Clock":1,"Legacy":0,"Pass":"","Port":"443","SSL":"yes","Server":"xx.duckdns.org"}


This sets Clock widget to On, Legacy login to NO and SSL to YES.
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: June 2018

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Luc_S » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:54 pm

Hmm I just installed the app from the ToonStore and for some reason it looks in the wrong directory for the switch images. Pretty strange because it only occurs for the switch images:

Code: Select all
file://qmf/qml/apps/homeassistant/HomeassistantConfigurationScreen.qml:505:17: QML Image: Cannot open: qrc:/tsc/knob.png


The knob.png (and background images used for the knob) are located on /HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/drawables/ so yeah, it cannot open qrc:/tsc/knob.png

[Edit]
The locations of images are modified for correct installation through the ToonStore I guess. I noticed all image locations are changed to 'qrc:/tsc/...' However I can't quite figure out yet why the switches are having problems with this.

[Edit 2]
As a workaround you can copy the 2 files below from github.com/Luc-S/Toon-HASS/tree/master/ ... eassistant into your "/HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/" folder on your Toon and overwrite the existing.
- HomeassistantScreen.qml
- HomeassistantConfigurationScreen.qml

[Edit 3]
Toonz explained me that images used in apps must be included in the resource file since version 4.16. These switch images are new and therefor not available yet. He'll try to arrange this with TheHogNL.
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: June 2018

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby JurnD » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:15 pm

Good evening!

Luc_S wrote:[Edit 2]
As a workaround you can copy the 2 files below from github.com/Luc-S/Toon-HASS/tree/master/ ... eassistant into your "/HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/" folder on your Toon and overwrite the existing.
- HomeassistantScreen.qml
- HomeassistantConfigurationScreen.qml


I just tried this workaround, but it's not working for me. I'm not really sure how it's supposed to work though, aren't we overwriting files with the same files(The files don't appear modified for some while on github)?

Thanks for your work none the less!
JurnD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Luc_S » Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:40 pm

When the app is packaged for installation through the ToonStore the DEVs change the absolute and relative paths to a different directory. This works fine unless you use new images and you don't let the DEVs know there are new images that need to be incorporated.

The files installed by the ToonStore have images paths like 'qrc:/tsc/image.png' and the files from GitHub still use the relative paths like './drawables/image.png'.

As a drastic workaround you can also uninstall the app from the ToonStore and copy the entire 'homeassistant' directory from GitHub into '/HCBv2/qml/apps/'. After a reboot the app should be available.

For me updating the 2 files worked. Do you have a 'drawables' folder with images on your Toon (in the homeassistant app folder)?
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: June 2018

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby JurnD » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:09 pm

Luc_S wrote:For me updating the 2 files worked. Do you have a 'drawables' folder with images on your Toon (in the homeassistant app folder)?

I do have that folder, with all the images as presented on github.

Luc_S wrote:As a drastic workaround you can also uninstall the app from the ToonStore and copy the entire 'homeassistant' directory from GitHub into '/HCBv2/qml/apps/'. After a reboot the app should be available.

I will try this now, and let you know the result.

Thanks for your explanation.

EDIT: It is working nicely when removing the app from toonstore and placing the entire homeassistant folder from github. Thanks!
JurnD
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Phoolie » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:49 am

Luc_S wrote:As a drastic workaround you can also uninstall the app from the ToonStore and copy the entire 'homeassistant' directory from GitHub into '/HCBv2/qml/apps/'. After a reboot the app should be available.

I tried your workaround and now it works fine.

Is there an easy way to add sensors & switches? With the touchscreen of the Toon needs a lot of patience
Phoolie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 2019

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Luc_S » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:48 am

Entering all info on Toon's touchscreen can be timeconsuming indeed :D You can manually fill the sensors.json and switches.json however I can't give you an example right now. If you add 1 switch and 1 sensor I think you know the drill when you open the file on your Toon with command 'vi'.

Code: Select all
vi /HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/switches.json


If you've never used vi you probably want to check Google on how it works. There are some specific commands for editing and saving.

[Edit]
Did you guys reboot the Toon after you updated the 2 files? Just checking to find out why the first workaround didn't work for you.
Luc_S
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: June 2018

Re: Toon app: Home Assistant controller

Postby Phoolie » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:29 pm

Luc_S wrote:Entering all info on Toon's touchscreen can be timeconsuming indeed :D You can manually fill the sensors.json and switches.json however I can't give you an example right now. If you add 1 switch and 1 sensor I think you know the drill when you open the file on your Toon with command 'vi'.

Code: Select all
vi /HCBv2/qml/apps/homeassistant/switches.json


If you've never used vi you probably want to check Google on how it works. There are some specific commands for editing and saving.
Isn't it possible to use WinSCP and edit the files with Notepad ++?
[Edit]
Did you guys reboot the Toon after you updated the 2 files? Just checking to find out why the first workaround didn't work for you.
I didn't tried the other workaround, because JurnD said, it wont worked.

If you want, I can try it this weekend.
Phoolie
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 2019

PreviousNext

Return to Toon Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest