OT Thermostat that supports override setpoints etc.

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTGW) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

fanagolo
Starting Member
Starting Member

OT Thermostat that supports override setpoints etc.

Post by fanagolo »

Hi all, I'm new to OT and OTGW and this is my first post here so please bear with me!

I was forced to replace my Worcester Bosch boiler which I had connected to Home Assistant and am now trying to do the same with the new Ideal Logic Max combi boiler and Ideal Halo Lite thermostat and OTGW. I'm thus new to OT and OTGW and am trying to learn - please do excuse any idiotic questions!

I have the Nodo Shop OTGW working - I have connected it in gateway mode and have used the HASS OpenTherm integration - it all seems to be working OK and I can turn heating on from HASS, for example.

I cannot change the setpoint displayed in the Ideal Halo Lite and from what I've read, this is not possible on that unit.

Can anyone recommend an OpenTherm thermostat that does support this, please?
hvxl

Re: OT Thermostat that supports override setpoints etc.

Post by hvxl »

I once started a topic to collect such information. It used to be a "sticky" topic, meaning it would stay on top of the list of topics. Unfortunately, I didn't get much input to update the information with new thermostats. So after several years without any updates, I removed the stickiness.

Sadly, most new thermostats don't implement remote override via the opentherm interface. If they do support remote control, it is usually via an app and/or through the cloud. So the thermostats listed as supporting remote override in the mentioned topic are probably still your best bet.
Schelte
fanagolo
Starting Member
Starting Member

Post by fanagolo »

Thank you, Sir!

This is really useful. It's strange that the manufacturers have dropped such a useful feature.
hvxl

Post by hvxl »

They probably prefer users to pay a monthly fee for their cloud service. :roll:
Schelte
fanagolo